The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a geo-political and economic organisation which comprises of ten countries located in the region of Southeast Asia. Formed on the 8th of August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand, its membership has since expanded to include Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. The organisation's primary objective is to accelerate the economic growth, social progress, cultural development and sustainability of the peacefulness in the region as well as to encourage stronger interdependent relationships among participating countries.

What is ASEAN Games

Igniting passion, celebrating diversity

As the largest sporting event involving the ASEAN community in Australia, AGA 2019 aims to enhance relationships amongst the communities from the Southeast Asian nations, by gathering both athletes and non-athletes from across all states in Australia. This year, ASEAN is celebrating its 50th Anniversary. To commemorate this auspicious milestone, ASEAN Games 2019 aims to gather individuals from different ethnic backgrounds, and cultivate in them an appreciation for the food and cultures of ASEAN. These efforts stand in addition to the annual sporting competition.

AGA is open to all ASEAN individuals of various backgrounds, and not limited to University students.